Home > General > Health before wealth

Health before wealth

September 12, 2011 Leave a comment Go to comments

It’s taken a while – longer than I expected – but I’m back. Yay!

Let’s start with the good news: the operation was successful. It provided the surgeon with more of a challenge than expected due to a number of complications that I won’t go into here but ultimately it was successful. Initially my recovery went well too. I was in hospital for a little over a week, which is right in line with expectations. And for the next couple of weeks after that things were going nicely and I was recovering well. OK, my wound wasn’t healing in places but it’s around 18 inches long so perhaps one shouldn’t expect it all to heal at the same rate. But as the wound continued to refuse to heal my recovery stalled somewhat and it was another couple of weeks before I could even contemplate sitting at a PC and doing what I do. I was in some pain and I just didn’t feel like (OK, couldn’t) sit at my PC for any length of time. I needed more time to recover and sensibly decided to put my health before the need to check my email and try to earn a bit of cash gambling on the horses. As it is, I have been online for just over a week now, on and off, but only now have I really felt up to bringing this blog up to date.

So here I am again and let’s hope it’s back to business as usual. Although I hope the results I have had this past week aren’t going to typical of the future as I have had a rather tough time of it since I started gambling again. The horses have been kicking me in the wallet and the football results haven’t been much kinder. In fact virtually my whole portfolio has struggled. I know a week isn’t really a long enough period to accurately assess anything but already I could do with a change in fortune. I immediately started to question my stakes as the losses began to mount and though I have tried to hold my nerve I have knocked a couple of them down a tick while I try to restore some confidence in the systems I follow. I have figures going back a long way for some of these systems and they are profitable in the long run but the losses incurred in this past week have made me doubt things, especially coming off the back of such a long break. There are a lot of red figures in my spreadsheet at the minute and my Betfair balance has taken a hell of a knock. I could really do with a lot of those red figures turning black and my Betfair balance ticking up to reassure me that I have made the right decisions and that I can make this game pay. At the minute I’m not sure that is the case…

Categories: General
  1. Gareth Thorne
    September 13, 2011 at 9:30 am

    Glad to see your back on feet and starting to feel better. Shame that you had such bad week just as you get back on your feet (literally). Hopefully things will turn around shortly and give you (and betfair balance) the boost you need.

  2. Les Wilson
    September 14, 2011 at 4:09 pm

    Glad to see you are on the mend.
    As the previous post was about The Football Analyst and your choice of the 6 combo systems the first two weeks must have been another blow to your system following but last night should have cheered you a little.
    Reading that analysis helped crystalise my decsion to following the same 6 combo systems but with dnb, and with no losers last night the system is now in the black.
    I also follow tennis, particularly the WTA and the US open was very difficult but from the ouset I could see that I was not going to be able to turn a profit and was disiplined enough to avoid a bet until the mens final. I looked at JB’s free SBC tip on Nadal and agreed with his assesment but by game three took the wise (in hindsight) decesion to trade out for no loss.
    Hopefully your recovery to profitability will not be as slow and painfull as your operation.

    Best wishes
    Les

    • Mat
      September 15, 2011 at 9:31 am

      I missed at least the first couple of weeks of The Football Analyst bets I think. I only started following them on 10th September, which just happened to be a day on which the six combo systems drew a blank so not the best of starts. But the midweek action this week was better and has returned me to the black, albeit only by just over a point across the six systems. Still very early days though and my earlier analysis suggests I should see a decent profit come the end of the season so I am perfectly happy with things on that front. I haven’t checked the bets or results from the few weeks before I started following the bets but you make it sound like I dodged a bullet there.

      Tennis is one sport I have never really been able to get into from a betting angle. There are a few tennis tipsters about but none of them have really had the sort of proven track record I look for which is why I have stuck to the main betting sports of horse racing and football. If I were to expand my portfolio into other sports then tennis wouldn’t be that high up the list. I know there are a lot of events being played throughout the year which should make for regular bets (something I do look for in a service) but a lot of the tennis tipping I have seen involves heavy favourites and a couple of ‘shock’ results soon wipes out earlier profits. That doesn’t appeal to me. If there was one sport I wish I could crack it would be greyhound racing but I have never been able to make that pay either. I can read and understand the racecards but I still can’t pick winners. I’d love to be able to make a consistent profit from the dogs though.

  3. Les Wilson
    September 15, 2011 at 12:09 pm

    You only missed one week of the football bets and there were only two selections, Mansfield who won a one unit bet from the 6 combo systems, and lincoln who lost a four unit bet, so a net loss of 1.2 units.

    Tennis is a solo sport, and particularly in the womens side, other than the top half a dozen players the rest have very up and down days. To make a profit you need to throw the form book out of the window and assess each match “in play” from the mood of the player, so obviously this is not your scene.

    I have a similar problem with regular following of horse racing, as I often dissagree with the market, and never know whether to follow my analysis or the market.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

